WinQuire Daily Tidbits: October 5, 2010

It’s been a bit of a longer day than usual, so I wasn’t able to get these out sooner (I actually wrote most of these earlier today, but then I didn’t have time to actually post it). However, here are some daily news stories from around the web. Focusing primarily on Microsoft and related technologies and services, updated daily and throughout the day. Here’s what’s going on right now.

Comcast, the largest Internet Service Provider in the US, has announced that they will monitor and notify customers if they’re PCs are infected by malware, bots, or spyware. This is great news, and something that should have been done long before (Comcast has had the resources to do it for a while now). Ultimately, this should help with the spreading of virus, spyware, malware, etc. Although I’m not a huge fan of Comcast, I still think this is a good step forward. The ISP also offers some great free resources, such as Norton Anti-Virus installed on up to seven PCs. They also recommend using Secunia Personal Security Inspector, which I use and highly recommend.

Remember Microsoft’s Courier device that died off shortly after it was ‘announced?’ Well, according to this post by Mary Jo Foley, it may still be around, but in Microsoft Surface format. I haven’t been too big into all of the Surface technology that Microsoft has been trying to put together, mainly because it’s been nearly four or five years since they first showed a demo of it.

Apparently, Google TV is now live, so feel free to check that out. Currently, however, you need to purchase a device to use it, sorry, no computer usage here. Which, to me is sort of interesting, considering I had originally thought Google TV was supposed to be a ‘new’ way of watching TV (i.e., from or with a computer). Apparently not.

Oh, and before I forget, Windows 7 Home Premium Family Pack will start going on sale on October 22. Yep, one year after Microsoft’s initial release of Windows 7 and the original Family Pack. You get three copies of Windows 7 Home Premium for $149.99. Not a bad deal. I’ll have more information on that shortly.

I probably won’t be updating this as the day goes on, as it’s already a bit late. However, if anything major occurs between now and midnight, I’ll be sure to update. And, by major I mean something as drastic as Microsoft actually breaking up into three mini-Microsofts, which we all know won’t happen anytime soon. :)

Leave a comment